0800 223 223

toll-free number

Eine von Fünf
The AOB is an open house and welcomes all interested parties to come and visit its VA.TRIUM visitor centre.
  • Links

    Are you searching for the contact data of the Patient Ombudsman in your province, and would you like to call the nearest Judiciary Ombudsman’s office or contact the European Ombudsman? All of the information can be found here.

     

  • Austria

    You can find the addresses of the provincial Ombudsman Boards in Tyrol and Vorarlberg as well as the contact information of the Federal Disability Ombudsman Board and the Ombudsman Board for Equal Opportunities.

    Vorarlberg provincial Ombudsman Board: Monitors the provincial and local government administration and the indirect Federal administration. The contact information can be found here.

    Tyrol provincial Ombudsman Board: Monitors the provincial and local government administration and the indirect Federal administration. The contact information can be found here.

    Judiciary Ombudsman Offices: These offices handle requests and complaints relating to the activities of the courts throughout Austria. They must, however, remain impartial during an ongoing process. You can find the contact information of the judiciary ombudsman offices in Vienna, Linz, Graz and Innsbruck here.

    Federal Disability Ombudsman Board: This board is available to offer support if somebody feels discriminated against as a result of having a disability as defined by the law for equal treatment of disabled people. You can find its contact information here.

    Ombudsman Board for Equal Opportunities: this board deals with all matters relating to equal treatment of women and men in the workplace and is available at regional offices. You can find its contact information here.

    Patient Ombudsman Board: This board assesses complaints about public hospitals, care homes and numerous social institutions in each province.

    Burgenland Health and Patient Ombudsman

    Carinthian Patient Ombudsman

    Lower Austria Patient and Nursing Ombudsman

    Upper Austria Patient Representative

    Salzburg Patient Representative

    Styrian Patient Ombudswoman:
    Tel.: (+43) 0316 877-3350. E-mail: ppo@stmk.gv.at

    Tyrol Patient Representative

    Vorarlberg Patient Ombudsman

    Vienna Nursing and Patient Ombudsman Board

    Environmental and Nature Conservation Ombudsman Boards: These are independent institutions of the provinces. The Environmental Ombudsman or Ombudswoman works objectively without supervision in most provinces. You can find their contact information here.

    Authorities and institutions

    Federal President

    Austrian Court of Audit

    Constitutional Court of Austria

    Administrative Court

    Supreme Court

    Parliament

    Federal Ministries

    Provinces

    Provincial Parliaments

    Electronic help portal

  • International

    The Ombudsman board is also active internationally and in Europe. You can find important links here.

    International Ombudsman Institute: This is the only global interest group for independent bodies for the control of administrative authorities. The just under 150 I.O.I. members are national, regional and local ombudsman institutions from approx. 75 states. The General Secretariat of the I.O.I has been located in Vienna at the headquarters of the Ombudsman board since September 2009.

    European citizens’ representative: Examines complaints about maladministration in EU institutions. Private individuals resident in an EU country and companies can lodge a complaint. The Ombudsman board and/or the provincial Ombudsman board in Tyrol and Vorarlberg is/are responsible for answering questions on implementing EU law in Austria.

    European ombudsman institute: The European ombudsman institute with its headquarters in Innsbruck is a centre of excellence for exchanging information between European ombudsman institutions, Committees on Petitions and interested experts.

    Council of Europe : The Council of Europe with its headquarters in Strasbourg (France) currently has 47 member states and therefore encompasses almost all European states. It was founded in 1949 in an attempt to develop common and democratic principles throughout Europe. The basis for the council are the European Convention for Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of the rights of individuals.

    UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, OHCHR):

    The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights strives to achieve global recognition of and adherence to human rights, encourages international cooperation on human rights and promotes the global ratification and implementation of agreements on human rights.

    ICC (International Coordinating Committee of National Institutions for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights) : The ICC is a combination of national human rights institutions (NHRI) whose objective is to enhance and launch additional human rights institutions.

    UN Subcommission on Prevention of Torture (Subcommission on Prevention of Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, SPT):

    The UN Subcommission on Prevention of Torture (SPT) and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatments consists of 25 independent experts from the fields of law, medicine and law enforcement from the different member states of the UN Optional Protocol. The SPT is able to visit all places where people are deprived of liberty and supports and advises the national prevention mechanisms.

    European Commission on Prevention of Torture (Commission for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, CPT): The European Commission on Prevention of Torture was created with the signing of the Council of European Convention on Prevention of Torture in 1987. The CPT consists of independent experts from different specialist disciplines. Each member state of the Council of Europe has a representative. The CPT conducts regular ad-hoc visits to all places where people are deprived of their liberty.

0800 223 223

kostenlose Servicenummer

Die Volksanwaltschaft steht mit den Betroffenen in engem Kontakt, um ihnen zu ihrem Recht zu verhelfen.
  • Links

    Sie suchen die Kontaktdaten der Patientenanwaltschaft in Ihrem Bundesland, möchten die nächstgelegene Justiz-Ombudsstellen anrufen oder sich an den Europäischen Bürgerbeauftragten wenden? Alle Informationen finden Sie hier.

  • Österreich

    Hier finden Sie zum Beispiel die Adressen der Landesvolksanwaltschaften in Tirol und Vorarlberg sowie Kontaktdaten der Behinderten- und Gleichbehandlungsanwaltschaft.

    Landesvolksanwaltschaft Vorarlberg: Die Landesvolksanwaltschaft in Vorarlberg prüft die Landes- und Gemeindeverwaltung in Vorarlberg sowie die mittelbare Bundesverwaltung. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

    Landesvolksanwaltschaft Tirol: Die Landesvolksanwaltschaft in Tirol prüft die Landes- und Gemeindeverwaltung in Tirol sowie die mittelbare Bundesverwaltung. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

    Justiz-Ombudsstellen: Die Justiz-Ombudsstellen kümmern sich um Anfragen und Beschwerden betreffend die Tätigkeit der Gerichte in ganz Österreich. Sie dürfen dabei aber nicht zugunsten einer Partei in ein laufendes Verfahren eingreifen. Die Kontaktdaten der Justiz-Ombudsstellen in Wien, Linz, Graz und Innsbruck finden Sie hier.

    Behindertenanwaltschaft: Die Behindertenanwaltschaft steht zur Verfügung, wenn man sich aufgrund einer Behinderung im Rahmen des Behindertengleichstellungsrechtes diskriminiert fühlt. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

    Gleichbehandlungsanwaltschaft: Die Gleichbehandlungsanwaltschaft kümmert sich um die Gleichbehandlung von Frauen und Männern am Arbeitsplatz und steht in regionalen Büros zur Verfügung. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

    Patientenanwaltschaft: Die Patientenanwaltschaft prüft in jedem Bundesland Beschwerden über öffentliche Krankenanstalten, Pflegeheime und diverse Sozialeinrichtungen.

    Burgenländischer Gesundheits- und Patientenanwalt 

    Kärntner Patientenanwalt 

    Niederösterreichischer Patienten- und Pflegeanwalt 

    Oberösterreichische Patientenvertretung 

    Salzburger Patientenvertreterin 

    Steiermärkische Patientenombudsfrau

    Tiroler Patientenvertretung

    Vorarlberger Patientenanwalt

    Wiener Pflege-, Patientinnen- und Patientenanwaltschaft

    Umwelt- und Naturschutzanwaltschaften: Die Umwelt- und Naturschutzanwaltschaften sind unabhängige Einrichtungen der Bundesländer. In den meisten Bundesländern ist der Umweltanwalt/die Umweltanwältin sachlich weisungsfrei gestellt. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier.

    Behörden und Institutionen

          Bundespräsident

          Rechnungshof

          Verfassungsgerichtshof

          Verwaltungsgerichtshof

          Oberster Gerichtshof

          Parlament

          Bundesministerien

          Bundesländer

          Landtage

          Elektronischer Amtshelfer

     

    Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Menschenrechte: Das Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Menschenrechte (BIM) besteht seit 1992 als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut zur wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit den Menschenrechten auf nationaler, europäischer und internationaler Ebene.

  • International

    Die Volksanwaltschaft ist auch auf internationaler Ebene und im europäischen Kontext aktiv. Die wichtigsten Links finden Sie hier.

    International Ombudsman Institute: Das IOI ist eine global agierende Interessenvertretung für unabhängige Verwaltungskontrollorgane. Die knapp 150  IOI Mitglieder sind nationale, regionale und lokale Ombudsmann-Einrichtungen aus ca. 75 Staaten. Seit September 2009 ist das Generalsekretariat des IOI in Wien in der Volksanwaltschaft angesiedelt.

    Europäischer Bürgerbeauftragter: Der Europäische Bürgerbeauftragte untersucht Beschwerden über Missstände in EU-Institutionen. Privatpersonen mit Wohnsitz in einem EU-Land, aber auch Unternehmen können eine Beschwerde einreichen. Für Fragen der Umsetzung des EU-Rechts in Österreich ist die Volksanwaltschaft bzw. in Tirol und Vorarlberg auch die Landesvolksanwaltschaft zuständig.

    Europäisches Ombudsmann Institut: Das Europäische Ombudsmann-Institut mit Sitz in Innsbruck ist ein Kompetenzzentrum zum Austausch von Informationen zwischen europäischen Ombudsman-Einrichtungen, Petitionsausschüssen sowie interessierten Expertinnen und Experten.

    Europarat: Der Europarat mit Sitz in Straßburg (Frankreich) hat heute 47 Mitgliedsstaaten und umfasst damit fast alle Staaten Europas. Er wurde 1949 gegründet, um in ganz Europa gemeinsame und demokratische Prinzipien zu entwickeln. Grundlage hierfür sind die Europäische Konvention für Menschenrechte sowie andere Referenztexte zum Schutz des Einzelnen.

    UN-Hochkommissariat für Menschenrechte (United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, OHCHR): Der Hohe Kommissar der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte setzt sich für die weltweite Anerkennung und Einhaltung von Menschenrechten ein und fördert die internationale Zusammenarbeit in Bezug auf Menschenrechte sowie die weltweite Ratifizierung und Umsetzung internationaler Menschenrechtsabkommen.

    ICC (International Coordinating Comittee of National Institutions for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights): Der IV ist ein Zusammenschluss von nationalen Menschenrechtsinstitutionen (NHRI), die sich den Ausbau sowie die Gründung weiterer Menschenrechtsinstitutionen zum Ziel gesetzt hat.

    UN-Unterausschuss zur Verhütung von Folter (Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, SPT): Der UN-Unterausschuss zur Verhütung von Folter (SPT) und anderen grausamen, unmenschlichen oder erniedrigenden Behandlungen besteht aus 25 unabhängigen Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen Recht, Medizin und Strafvollzug der Mitgliedstaaten des UN-Fakultativprotokolls. Das SPT kann alle Orte des Freiheitsentzugs besuchen und unterstützt und berät die Nationalen Präventionsmechanismen.

    Europäischer Ausschuss zur Verhütung von Folter (Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, CPT): Der Europäische Ausschuss zur Verhütung von Folter wurde mit der Unterzeichnung der Europaratskonvention zur Verhütung von Folter 1987 geschaffen. Das CPT besteht aus unabhängigen Expertinnen und Experten verschiedener Fachdisziplinen. Jeder Mitgliedstaat des Europarates verfügt über eine Vertreterin oder einen Vertreter, das CPT führt regelmäßige sowie ad hoc Besuche an allen Orten des Freiheitsentzuges durch.

    Deutsches Institut für Menschenrechte:  Das Deutsche Institut für Menschenrechte wurde 2001 auf Empfehlung des Deutschen Bundestages gegründet und soll als Nationale Menschenrechtsinstitution Deutschlands zur Förderung und zum Schutz der Menschenrechte im In- und Ausland beitragen.